Abia State Nigeria Executive Council

By | July 9, 2017

Abia State Nigeria Executive Council

Abia State Nigeria Executive Council

Administrative Structure

The Executive
The Governor heads The Abia State Executive Council. It comprises the Deputy Governor, the Secretary to the state government and twenty-three Commissioners. The Legislative arm of the government allows the Governor appoint special advisers.

The following Ministries are headed by Permanent Secretaries; Finance, Local government, Chieftaincy Affairs, Education, Agriculture, Environment, Commerce and Industry, Works, Public Utilities, Information and Strategy, Women Affairs and Social Development, Justice, Lands and Survey and Urban Planning, and Health.

Other non-ministerial departments include the Local Government Service Commission, the Office of the Secretary to the State Government, the Civil Service Commission, the Judicial Service Commission, the Bureau of Political Affairs, the Bureau of Special Services, the Housing Corporation, the Bureau of Economic Affairs, the Bureau of Budget and Planning and the Bureau of Establishment, Training and Pension.

Read Also  NYSC Registration Guide


  • Board of Internal revenue
  • Public Utility Board
  • Hospital Management Board


The State Government is led by a democratically elected executive who works closely with an elected State House Assembly. The capital city is Umuahia. There are Seventeen (17) local government areas (LGAs).